Governance at Swindon Academy is multi-level, thereby providing rigorous challenge and support to school leaders. The academy is part of United Learning whose Trustees hold the ultimate responsibility for the governance of each United Learning school.  United Learning's trustees delegate certain key roles and responsibilities to the school’s Local Governing Body (LGB), which are set out clearly in Appendix 4 to the United Learning LGB Members Handbook. Further information about the governance of United Learning can be found at

The Local Governing Body provide a wide-range of expertise that enables high-level challenge and provides support for improvement and change.  The LGB as a whole meet six times each year whereby governors review school improvement, achievement and progress.  Additionally, members of the governing body hold responsibility for specific areas and are allocated to governor committees, which meet five times each year.  Committee members are as follows:

Secondary Curriculum Committee Finance and Premises Committee
Mary Curnock Cook (Chair)
Helen Thorne
Debbie Harris (Grammar Stream)
Emma Hatherall (11-16)
Kim Telling (Sixth Form)
Mary Curnock Cook (Chair)
Krien Dawson
Martin Stewart
Peter Oliver
Primary Curriculum Committee Families and Communities Committee
Nic Allott (Chair)
Stephen Shrigley (Beech Ave)
Andrea Keighley (Alton Close)
Simon Halls (EYFS)
Simon Halls (Chair)
Gareth Kitchener (Safeguarding)
Hayley Pike (SEN AC)
Carol Shelley (SEN BA)
Emma Hatherall (Exclusions)

Parents can contact Mary Curnock Cook, the Chair of Governors, by writing to her at the school address as follows: Ms M Curnock Cook, Chair of Governors, Swindon Academy, Beech Avenue, Swindon, SN2 1JR.  Please mark your letter as confidential.

United Learning’s annual statements of accounts can be viewed here

Local Governing Body

The school is part of United Learning. United Learning comprises: UCST (Registered in England No: 2780748. Charity No. 1016538) and ULT (Registered in England No. 4439859. An Exempt Charity). Companies limited by guarantee. VAT number 834 8515 12.
Registered address: United Learning, Worldwide House, Thorpe Wood, Peterborough, PE3 6SB. Tel: 01832 864 444

United Learning